Shopper's Guide for release 10-9-2017 Submitted by Charlene Miller, CEA, 4-H & Youth/Director

Extension Council Elections

Cooperative Extension is an important part of our everyday lives. Leaders must identify problems, consider alternatives, and develop action programs that improve social and economic conditions in the community, state and nation. These leaders are invested in the Extension program. Here locally, the Butler County Extension Council Executive Board is comprised of 9 elected members. These 9 members represent the four program areas (PDCs) of Agriculture, Family Consumer Sciences, Community Development and 4-H & Youth.

Representatives on the council support the extension program, promote community involvement and help to plan, implement and evaluate the local extension program. Members understand and value the mission of Cooperative Extension and understand the needs of their local community and county. Elections are required annually and program representatives cannot hold office more than 2, two year terms.

The annual Butler County Extension Council Election will be held on Tuesday, October 18th, 2017 at the Butler County Extension Office which is located at 206 N. Griffith St. in El Dorado, KS. Polls will be open from 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Anyone of voting age who resides in Butler County is eligible to vote.

The purpose of the election is to select three people to each of the 4 Program Development Committees (PDCs). Those elected will serve a two-year term and will join the three current members to help plan and promote Extension Programs in their respective area. They are also eligible to be elected to the Extension Executive Board.

The candidates for the Four Program Development Committees are:

Agriculture: Jeff Varner, Brian Hodes, and Ty Kemp

Community Development: Jerry Long, Richard Miller, and Patrick Laham

Family Consumer Science: Shannon Hettenbach, Becci Hargrove, Carolyn Webb

4-H & Youth: Darren Jackson, Braden Moore and Carla Varner